Bookmark and Share

Wisconsin Arts Board Awards Visual and Media Arts Fellowships

Eight Wisconsin artists will receive fellowships for work in visual and media arts from the Wisconsin Arts Board as a part of its 2010 Individual Artist Fellowship Awards program. This statewide program provides $8,000 awards to outstanding professional artists in recognition of their significant contributions to their field. These funds are intended to be used to create new work, complete work in progress, and/or pursue activities that contribute to their artistic growth. [See below for list of fiscal year 2010 recipients.]

The Wisconsin Arts Board received 176 applications from visual artists and 9 applications from media artists throughout the state. Awards were determined by two panels of arts professionals, based on the artistic quality of the applicants’ work samples. Panelists recommended the eight artists to members of the Wisconsin Arts Board for its final approval.

The Artist Fellowship Awards program offers fellowships in a variety of disciplines over a two-year cycle. Application deadlines for the upcoming fellowship cycle, available in literary arts, choreography/performance art, and music composition, will be September 16, 2010. Wisconsin’s professional artists in these disciplines are eligible to apply. Applications will be available on-line by August 2, 2010. Artists may call (608/266-0190) or e-mail (artsboard@arts.state.wi.us) the Wisconsin Arts Board to include their name on the electronic mailing list (e-mail) to receive information on the fellowship, as well as the link to the application.

FY 2010 Artist Fellowship Recipients

Visual Arts

  • Reginald Baylor, Painting, Milwaukee
  • Jessica Calderwood, Metal, Menasha
  • Lisa Gralnick, Metal, Madison
  • Kay Knight, Painting, Milwaukee
  • Shayna Leib, Metal, Madison
  • T.L. Solien, Painting, Madison
  • Roy Staab, Sculpture, Milwaukee

Media Arts

  • Douglas Rosenberg, Media Arts - Interdisciplinary, Oregon