Bookmark and Share

Wisconsin Visual Art Lifetime Achievement Awards To Be Held At The Museum Of Wisconsin Art

West Bend--The 7th annual Wisconsin Visual Art Lifetime Achievement awards ceremony will be held at the Museum of Wisconsin Art (MWA) on Sunday, May 23 at 1:30 p.m., in West Bend, WI. Founded in 2004 as a collaboration between MWA, Wisconsin Painters and Sculptors/Artists in All Media (now Wisconsin Visual Artists) and the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters, the WVALAA is essentially the in-state “Hall of Fame”. This prestigious award is bestowed upon individuals and organizations that have made extraordinary contributions to the creation, support, and growth of visual arts in and of Wisconsin. This includes artists, organizations, teachers, patrons, art historians and authors.

The goal of the Wisconsin Visual Art Lifetime Achievement Awards is to elevate the status of Wisconsin’s visual art by honoring those whose contributions are substantial and in many cases often overlooked by people outside of our region.

This year’s recipients of a WVALAA are: Fred Berman, Abraham Cohn, Miriam Frink & Charlotte Partridge, William Gerdts, Frederick Wilhelm Heine, Carl Holty, Vinnie Ream Hoxie, the Layton School of Art, Dean Meeker, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Karl Priebe and Roy Staab.

Mary Louise Schumacher, art and architecture critic of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel will be the guest speaker with a talk entitled: Covering the Arts: the New Paradigm. Over the last 15 years the internet, social media, newspapers, film, camera, cell phones and image dissemination have profoundly changed traditional media to the point that the old ways of covering, and being informed about the arts, has changed forever. Mary Louise Schumacher has embraced this new paradigm of arts coverage and will discuss this shift as well as what it means for contemporary artists.

West Bend Mutual Insurance Company is proud to sponsor this, the seventh Wisconsin Visual Art Lifetime Achievement Awards.  Additional support is provided by Wisconsin Visual Artists (three chapters). the Museum of Wisconsin Art, the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters, the Miller Art Museum in Sturgeon Bay and individual contributions.


Attendees who arrive early can hear, at 12:30 p.m., a presentation by James Shields of HGA Architects of Milwaukee on the new design for the Museum of Wisconsin Art’s new building, slated to begin construction in 2010. Reservations not required, but seating is limited.

For more information visit www.wvalaa.com or, contact Co Chairs Randall Berndt, Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters at 608-265-2538 or rberndt@wisconsinacademy.org; David Sear, Wisconsin Visual Artists, 414-771-5914 searldr@yahoo.com; or Graeme Reid, Museum of Wisconsin Art, 262-334-9638 greid@wisconsinart.org