Bookmark and Share

Wisconsin Arts Board announces New Leadership

The Wisconsin Arts Board proudly announces the following new board officers:  Kevin Miller of Fond du Lac, Chairperson; Mary Gielow of Mequon, Vice Chairperson; Heather McDonell of Madison, Secretary.  These new officers began their service at the May 8, quarterly meeting of the Arts Board.

“We look forward to working with Kevin, Mary, and Heather in their new roles, said George Tzougros, Arts Board Executive Director.  “I know they will continue the Arts Board’s rich tradition of outstanding, citizen leadership.”

The Wisconsin Arts Board is governed by a fifteen-member board appointed by the Governor to serve three-year terms. Board members are Wisconsin citizens recognized for their accomplishments in the arts, humanities, business, education or public service. The board includes members from urban and rural areas across the state and from diverse racial, economic and cultural backgrounds. Board members set policy for the agency and approve funding recommendations made by the peer review panels. The members meet a minimum of four times per year, and all meetings are open to the public.

The Wisconsin Arts Board is the state agency which nurtures creativity, cultivates expression, promotes the arts, supports the arts in education, stimulates community and economic development and serves as a resource for people of every culture and heritage.  Since 1973, the Arts Board has supported artists and arts organizations with funds from the state legislature and the National Endowment for the Arts.  For more information on the Wisconsin Arts Board, please visit www. For information on Wisconsin arts and cultural events, please visit www.portalwisconsin.org.